Adventure Market Competitiveness Pillars: Scope for More Components / Indicators

Adventure Market Competitiveness Pillars: Scope for More Components / Indicators

The Adventure Travel Trade Association (ATTA) and The George Washington University have jointly developed The Adventure Tourism Development Index (ATDI) that ranks nations based on ten pillars of Adventure Market Competitiveness.

The pillars are divided into three main categories:

Safe and Welcoming

1. Sustainable Development

2. Safety

3. Natural Resources

4. Health


5. Humanitarian

6. Infrastructure

7. Cultural Resources

8. Image


9. Entrepreneurship

10. Adventure Resources

ATDI covers a comprehensive range of factors affecting adventure tourism but it requires some more indicators, including tourist behavior, adventure activity-specific components and availability of equipment for rent.

Since maintaining adventure resources without tourists’ and travelers’ help is quite difficult, destinations shall also be appraised vis-à-vis tourist behavior. For instance, mountaineers do not bring back the waste from the peaks. A garbage trail on the Everest is an overt secret.

Only two indicators- Protected Species and Forests, Grasslands, Drylands- are used to define Adventure Resources pillar. However, it has scope for adventure activity-specific components such as number and altitude of peaks (mountaineering), number and types of rapids (whitewater rafting).

Many adventure activities require bulky and expensive equipment. However, if  quality equipment can be rented at the destination itself, time and cost of transporting the equipment from point of origin to the adventure destination could be saved.

Comments are closed.



  • Advertisements